University Sustainability Council

Meeting Summary

May 5, 2011

Attendees:

Frank Brewer, Interim Vice President for Administrative Affairs (Chair) Linda Clement, Vice President for Student Affairs Michelle Eastman, Assistant President and Chief of Staff Mahlon Straszheim, Associate Provost, Academic Affairs John Farley, Assistant Vice President for Administrative Affairs Bruce James, Professor and Director, Environmental Science and Policy Mary Ann Ottinger, Professor and Associate Vice President for Research Scott Lupin, Associate Director, Environmental Safety and Director, Office of Sustainability Joan Kowal, Energy Manager, Facilities Management Jay Elvove, Manager, OIT Monette Bailey, Senior Writer/Editor, University Relations Allen Davis, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering Matthias Ruth, Professor, School of Public Policy Matthew Popkin, Undergraduate Student, Government and Politics

Meeting start time: 11:00am

Meeting Highlights

Council Priorities for Next Year

The meeting began with a general discussion about the focus of the Council during the 2011-2012 school year. Scott Lupin asked the Council to consider focusing on implementation of the Climate Action Plan, including using the AASHE STARS self-reporting framework to guide our efforts.

- Council members suggested that we also need to review our commitment under the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment.
- Scott Lupin added that the office will be preparing the campus greenhouse gas inventory and metrics report this summer and will provide these documents to the Council in the fall.
- Joan Kowal informed the Council that project proposals to the University Sustainability Fund having a payback period were problematic in terms of tracking repayments. She proposed that in future years, recommended projects seeking a grant be supported by the University Sustainability Fund and that the University's energy reserve fund be used as a revolving loan fund for recommended projects having a payback and repayment schedule.

ACTION: Frank Brewer asked the Office of Sustainability to prepare a summary of the overlap between STARS and the Presidents' Climate Commitment prior to the Council's first meeting in September. Joan Kowal will propose how the revolving loan fund may operate and the repayment criteria.

Facilities Master Plan

Frank Brewer stated the University's Facilities Master Plan (FMP) is currently being revised and will be finalized in September 2011. He asked the Council to review and provide comments on a future draft to be completed this summer. Comments must be received by the FMP Steering Committee by September so the Sustainability Council may be called to meet during the week before classes begin in August 2011.

ACTION: Frank Brewer will notify the Council of the FMP draft to be reviewed and will call a meeting of the Council to specifically discuss the document in late August.

Sustainability Minor

Mahlon Straszheim reported that a proposal for the campus-wide sustainability minor was completed and will be presented to the Council of Deans in May.

UM Paper Purchases and New Policy

The Council has endorsed the Council's revised Environmentally Preferable Procurement (EPP) Policy.

Action: Frank Brewer will present the draft revision of the EPP to the University Cabinet and President for approval.

Nominations for New Council Members

John Farley shared the names of individuals being sent to President Loh for appointment as new members to the University Sustainability Council. They include: Nathan Hultman, School of Public Policy; Ross Salawitch, CMPS-Atmospheric & Oceanic Science; Thomas Zeller, Department of History; Ian Page, Graduate Student; Matthew Popkin, Undergraduate Student (reappointment).

Recognition of Recyclemania Team

Frank Brewer recognized the Recyclemania Team (Harry Teabout, Sandra Dykes, Bill Guididas, Dan Lawrence, Adrienne Small, Fran Avendano and Melton Sirleaf) for their efforts in helping the University of Maryland win the ACC Grand Championship category.

Frank Brewer thanked members of the Council for their efforts this year including those whose terms will end in August 2011.

Adjourn: 12:30pm