

Meeting Summary May 13, 2019

#### **Council Members Present:**

Carlo Colella, Vice President for Administration and Finance (Chair) Linda Clement, Vice President for Student Affairs David Cronrath, Associate Provost for Planning and Special Projects Maureen Kotlas, Executive Director, Department of Environmental Safety, Sustainability & Risk Scott Lupin, Assoc. Dir., Environmental Safety, Sustainability & Risk, and Director, Office of Sustainability MaryAnn Ibeziako, Director, Engineering and Energy, Facilities Management Eric Wachsman, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering and Director, Energy Research Center Bryan Quinn, Director of Technical Operation, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering David Cooper, Assistant Director of Operations, Division of IT Joe Sullivan, Professor, Plant Science and Landscape Architecture Jelena Srebric, Professor, Mechanical Engineering Jana VanderGoot, Assistant Professor, Architecture Amelia Avis, Undergraduate Student, Government and Politics and Policy Timothy Reedy, PhD Student, International Education Policy

Guests:

Nate Hultman, Director, Center for Global Sustainability Don Hill, Facilities Management Candela Cerpa, Undergraduate Student

Meeting start time: 11:00am

**Meeting Highlights** 

### Welcome and Review of April 8, 2019 Meeting Minutes

Carlo Colella welcomed the Council members and called the meeting to order. Meeting summary from April 8, 2019 was approved.

#### **America's Pledge**

Nate Hultman from the Center for Global Sustainability presented on America's Pledge and the role universities can play in climate action efforts.

### Maryland Clean Energy Jobs Act

Mark Stewart presented Information to the Council about the Maryland Clean Energy Jobs Act.

## **Piloting a New Building HVAC Scheduling Process**

Don Hill from Facilities Management presented on energy savings efforts taking place on campus utilizing automation controls.

# **Open Forum Topics**

- Scott Lupin introduced Tanvi Gadhia, the new Office of Sustainability Outreach Coordinator.
- Scott Lupin thanked outgoing Council members, Timothy Reedy, Jana VanderGoot, and Amelia Avis. He also recognized outgoing Office of Sustainability staff members, Emery Wolf and Lee-Ellen Myles.
- Linda Clement was recognized for her outstanding service to the university and the Sustainability Council.
- A Commuting and Fleet work group is scheduled to start meeting in late May.
- A request for proposal (RFP) has been issued for carbon offset projects. Projects should be available by May.
- Carlo Colella asked if there was an update regarding moving up the carbon neutrality date from 2050 to 2025. Scott Lupin said we will have a better idea once the future of the NextGen plant is determined and after the Commuting and Fleet work groups start meeting.
- Amelia Avis provided the following updates: the full amount was distributed this year for Sustainability Fund Mini-Grants; the Maryland Food Collective is closing after 44 years on campus; and she introduced Candela Cerpa, the new undergraduate for the Council.

Adjourn 1:00pm